EECS 484: Databases

Fall 2020

EECS 484 provides a basic introduction to relational database management systems (DBMSs). By the end of the course, you will know how to use and implement a DBMS. Among other topics, we will cover SQL, relational algebra, query excecution, optimization, and ACID semantics.

When emailing course staff, please use 484questions@umich.edu with "EECS484" in the Subject.

Course Policies

Course Schedule

Course Meetings

The course will consist of live lectures and discussion/lab sessions. We will be using Zoom. All lectures and discussions/labs will be recorded and posted to Piazza.

The recordings are managed in a thread on Piazza. The lecture slides will be posted according to the schedule (TBA).

Online Event Calendar

Open calendar in new window

Course Resources

There are several resources you should be aware of this semester:

Course Staff

Kevin Leach

Co-Instructor

kjleach@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern):
MW 2:00 — 3:00PM

Zoom Link

Barzan Mozafari

Co-Instructor

mozafari@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern):
Barzan is no longer holding office hours

Sahil Farishta

Graduate Student Instructor

Leads PM Discussions

sahilf@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern):
TR 4:00 — 6:00PM

Zoom Link

Junhwan Kim

Instructional Assistant

junhwank@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern):
T 8:00AM — 9:30AM

Zoom Link

Kevin Sang

Instructional Assistant

ksang@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern):
TR 9:30AM — 11:30AM

Zoom Link

Matt (Tianqi) Zhang

Instructional Assistant

zhangtia@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern):
F 10:30PM — 12:00AM
Sat 10:30AM — 12:00PM

Zoom Link

Nick Hoffman

Instructional Assistant

hoffnick@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern)
MW 11:30AM — 1:30PM

Zoom Link

Yuning Wang

Instructional Assistant

Leads AM Discussions

wyuning@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern)
R 12:00PM — 2:00PM

Zoom Link

Yu Wang

Instructional Assistant

yuwangcs@umich.edu

Office Hours (Eastern)
MF 5:00PM — 6:30PM

Zoom Link